top of page
  • Writer's pictureJahnavi Shah

Week 1: Video + Sound

Updated: Sep 14, 2020


Site Files
.zip
Download ZIP • 1.94MB

Hello,


The Week 1 assignment includes creating a scene with sound only. I have tried to re-create a baby's first experience with music/sound and the effect it can have on his temperament. The audio shows how music and it's mother's voice humming calms a crying baby down. There are two variations I've uploaded. I have added my own audio to the second one as the female voice.


The Dangers of a Single Story really hit a chord with me. I am Indian and I have grown up watching films and reading books that demonstrated the West as this sort of aspirational place that is the center of the world. The best way I can describe it is feeling that my culture and my world exists on the periphery of another world where all the great stories take place in. Of course, with time we all grow to recognise that just because we haven't been represented enough, it does not mean that we are not a part of the narrative. The larger questions of identity and representation that Adichie brings are questions that will resonate with every person that doesn't fit into conventional represented roles. I had rarely viewed myself as a protagonist of a story and it took years of unconditioning to understand that it is an inferiority complex that isn't backed by credibility but is backed by bias. The danger of one narrative or one visual being pushed isn't always very obvious it's domino effect has created generations of resentment and frustration. A lot of us are fortunate enough to rise above it but a lot aren't. The current wave of revolution, representation, and conversation must continue for a future generation that inherits respect, pride and a clear identity from it's parents, not injustice and trauma.



84 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Project: Mirror Mirror on the Web

Group members: Jahnavi Shah Divya Mehra David Levya https://snowwhitefiltered.hosting.nyu.edu/ The idea was to have a modern day execution of the Snow White fairy tale. We wanted to elaborate on the a

Creating Viral Social Media Campaign

Concept: We wanted to toy with the idea of the mirror on the wall in Snow White as a metaphorical representation of social media and filters. Our narrative of Snow White also hopes to be more inclusiv

Sound Walk with MeeNa Ko- Week 2

https://moawling.itch.io/sound-fall Password : ITP I don’t have much experience with Unity but my brilliant partner MeeNa took charge, and also very patiently ran me through the basics. The software a

bottom of page