top of page
  • Writer's pictureJahnavi Shah

Week 1 - Introduction

Physical Computing is one of the classes I am equally intruiged as I am anxious by. Over the summer I did read parts of Physical Computing by Dan O' Sullivan and Tom Igoe to familiarise myself will the approach and ideology that will go behind this course. I love that the core of how we approach this at ITP involves an interaction with technology that is sensitive and intentional over approaching technology as a an accessory. Rather than acting as a substitute to human activities, it aspires to make human activities more humane (I hope to do the same if I can somehow manage to make my LED blink). I am an architect and I love working with my hands, and have had countless fabrication projects. Nonetheless, the first few labs did prove to be a challenge and I found it difficult to visualise connections or probable issues with my circuit. I will continue troubleshooting so as to pin-point the exact issue with the set-up.


I have tried to familiarise myself with concepts of electricity (Voltage, current, resistance, the various parts that we will work with and their intended purpose). Again, the book Physical computing was great because it added analogies that are easy to understand and personalise factual information. For example, the difference between analog and temperature was explained by how when one gets dressed in the morning, they may expect the exact temperature (analog), over knowing if its hot or cold (digital). That, combined with exact definitions and videos that demonstrate the workings, I think I have accumulated a decent theoretical understanding. I am able to visualise how I can personalise the class to add to my own projects. That said, the first week was hard and I was unable to make my LED light despite having a correct set up (I hope), and following through the videos.




Troubleshooting: - Double checked connections (anode, cathode, positioning)

- LEDs were changed after configurations

- re-checked if the correct regulator was used

- re-wired the DC power jack and rechecked it's connections

- changed the regulator

- tried multiple positions


My regulor did heat up initially but once I fixed the DC connections, it stopped flaring up.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Project 2: idea

I wanted to steer away a bit from my comfort zone and create a simple game that is controlled by a controller. For right now I have programmed the code for a game and I hope to elaborate on it: https:

bottom of page